First Draft (Water Cycle)

I decided to pick the Hydrologic Cycle, also known as Water Cycle as the subject for my A2 poster. From the very beginning, I had some basic ideas about its design. I knew that I wanted to centre my colour scheme around shades of blue and green, since those two are the most water related colours. Blue because it is the colour first connected with the idea of water, green because to illustrate the cycle of water, I would need plants and trees. Also, I had some ideas about how to design my layout and how I wanted to use the given space. I thought about splitting the screen into four parts, one for each step of the cycle, and connecting each part with an arrow. This way, I would create a never ending cycle, much like the water cycle itself. Also, I wanted to design my poster, so the viewer could start the cycle everywhere with the same result of following it around back to the start. Doing this, I considered that my poster could have viewers from all over the world, not just people from western countries. For us, it is normal to start looking at a picture from the upper right part, a lot like reading a book. For others, this might be different and if my poster would not be designed the planned way, they could have issues understanding its content.

Even though I was sure about the four step part, I still had not decided on the specific layout. To sort the ideas in my head, I used my graphics tablet. I sketched out some possible ways to use the space, hoping that the process would make the decision easier.

Screenshot (149)

Of course, my results still were miles away from a proper design, but sketching out actual ideas helped me a lot getting there. From the four sketches I did, I liked the lower right one the most. So, I used that concept to draw another sketch, this time bigger and with more information.

Screenshot (147)

Leave a Reply

