Setting up XAMPP

To get on with programming my page, I downloaded XAMPP which would enable me to view my “website” without connecting to the Dakar server. Since it contained PHP, the view option in brackets would not work, so I had to go and look for another solution. That was really important to me because I needed to be able to do work from home as well as from uni. Of course it would require me to change some pieces of my code. I had to change the login details for my database connection because I was using another database on my laptop than I was on the Uni Macs. First I saw that as a problem, since I would have to set up the needed database twice, but then we learned in our workshop about exporting and importing with PHPmyAdmin which seems as nice solution.

So, what is XAMPP?

It is a free and open source cross-platform web server package, consisting mainly of the Apache HTTP Server, MySQL database, and interpreters for scripts written in PHP. You can use it as a development tool to test work without access to the internet on your own laptop.

Setting up my personal server with XAMPP was not too hard, since I found a nice tutorial that walked me through it.

You can find the tutorial at the end of this post. In addition to explaining the set-up, it also names pages you can download XAMPP from.

It was very easy to use once I got a grip of it. It comes with a Control Panel that gives you an overview of all the parts included. For this project, I only needed to use the Modules “Apache” and “MySQL”. I had to start them, set PHPmyAdmin up and change the password. Then I moved my “project” file into the right folder and from there on, I could access my site under “localhost”.

Screenshot (224)

Here, I can view my work. As a test, I made it “echo out” a word.Screenshot (225)


References:

Tutorial

Unknown, 2014. How to Set up a Personal Web Server with XAMPP.Unknown: Wikihow.com. Available from: http://www.wikihow.com/Set-up-a-Personal-Web-Server-with-XAMPP [Accessed 01/03/2015].

Download

Apache Friends, Unknown. XAMPP Apache + MySQL + PHP + Perl. Unknown: Apache Friends. Available from: https://www.apachefriends.org/index.html %5BAccessed 01/03/2015].

Leave a Reply

